Private Filters, aka How to Reduce Noise in Your Filters List
Filters in Pipedrive allow to you create various kinds of reports about deals, organizations, people and products. They’re helpful in finding specific data such as “deals closed last month” fast.
Historically, all Pipedrive filters have been shared across all users in a company. This works perfectly fine in a small team where the number of filters is low and they’re easy to find. In large teams, however, it means trouble – if everyone’s filters are visible to everyone, there’s a lot of noise, and finding either your personal filters or the filters you need to use becomes slow and cumbersome.
To rectify this, we created “private filters” that allow you to find your personal filters with ease without having to create “named filters” anymore. With private filters, it’s easy to view the filters you’ve created without needing to scroll through a list containing dozens or hundreds of irrelevant ones. You can easily create new filters without littering everyone else’s view.
We split the filters up into two separate blocks:
- My filters
- Public filters
By default, all newly created filters are set as “private,” which means that only you can see them.
To edit filter visibility settings, you simply click on “edit filter” and change “visibility” from private to shared. If you were the person who created the filter, it would still show up under “my filters” even if it’s shared across the company. Everyone else can view it under the “public filters” block.
It’s a good idea to keep public only the filters that the whole company uses, leaving all others that you use personally private.
For large companies with dozens or hundreds of users, it might also be useful to regulate the editing and use of filters with “permission” management. There are two kinds you can apply:
- Regular (non-admin) users can only create private filters.
- Regular (non-admin) users cannot edit filters created by other users.
You can edit permissions under:
Settings – Users & Permissions Page – Permissions tab.